Traveling through life

The world – through my eyes

Il Palio di Siena: A Medieval Experience

 

il palio parade

il palio parade

Flag throwing. Marching parades of men costumed in doublets, hose, and caps drumming ancient songs.  Spur of the moment street chanting. Trumpets and bugles singing with merriment and spirit.

For a moment I feel as though I am living in ancient Italy, cerca the 1500s.

il palio

il palio

My arrival to Siena was in perfect timing, as the Palio, an ancient horse race, was to take place in just a few days.  And the opening festivities were in full swing.  Historical parades and processions randomly sneak up behind me, next to me, and in front of me as I meander through the winding streets of Siena.

Bella Siena

Bella Siena

Finally, the cobblestone street I have been walking, leads me to il campo, the town square.  A large sea shell shaped arena which marks the town center.  Hundreds of years of racing tradition have stamped this place and today I am standing inside.

Arriving to il campo, I am an hour early just to be safe.  Looking around, I see kids and adults donning colorful silk scarves which reflect the contrada, or neighborhood they belong.  Scanning the entire piazza I notice a sense of community and contagious excitement.  Smiling and laughing, everyone anxiously awaits the start of tonight’s, prove.  

While the Palio itself does not begin for another four days, there are three days of trial races in which the horses are tested for suitability and tonight marks the first trial.  Each trial, or prove, consists of four to five horses out of the 30 potential candidates.  The horses are narrowed down to just 10 for the Palio race itself.

Tonight I have a front row seat (in the circle, to be clear).  In order to have a prime front row seat, on the benches encircling the track, one must pay a pretty penny or know someone who knows someone who knows someone!  And I do not.

Waiting for the race to begin

Waiting for the race to begin

Suddenly…..BOOOOOOM!!!  I am completely startled and almost deafened by the monstrous sound that echoes off the walls again and again.  I look up and assume this is a starting signal.  But I continue to wait.  A short time goes by and another BOOM!

But this time, I look around at the crowd and see everyone has their eyes on the track.  The horses are lined up.  I expect a final BOOM to sound, but all I hear is…….

Absolutely nothing.  The entire piazza is as silent as a library at midnight.

After about a minute of utter silence, a signal sounds and the horses are off.  The crowd erupts in cheer.  Before I know it the horses make an entire lap around the track and stop.  They do this again two more times and each time the pounding of the hooves, the screaming of children, and the joy that can be felt running through the piazza is electrifying.  Unlike the Palio race whereby the horses will complete 3 full laps at once, in a trial race, the horses are not racing against each other and complete a lap at a time.  Again they are being tested for strength, suitability, and good health.

Beautiful horse celebrating a job well done

Beautiful horse celebrating a job well done

 

Contradie, the neighborhood people

Contrade, the neighborhood people

In just three short minutes, the prove is over.  Not wanting to get stuck in the square for too long I bolt to the nearest exit and I am face to face with one of the horses.  Behind this horse is his contrada following along, praising the horse and banding together to show fierce competitiveness.  The horse is circled around a few times in front of the crowd and then they continue walking around the track, contrada following close behind.

Another beauty

Another beauty

After the contrada passes through, I run quickly across the track to the other side.  This time I am stuck behind a line of people trying to squeeze through the exit.  Turning around, I am again face to face with another horse and his contrada.  I worry for a moment that I might get into some kind of trouble for being so close, but I continue to hug the side rail and watch, and no one scolds me.  I cannot believe how close I am to these people and their horse.  Sharing their energy I join in the cheering and find myself getting lost in ancient history.

Streets of Siena

Streets of Siena

Now that this contrada has passed, the line out to the streets has lessened and I make my way out.  This time, I find a horse and his contrada waltzing and celebrating through the streets.

I cannot even imagine something like this happening back home.  But that is the beauty of the Palio.  You can only find it in Siena and only twice a year, July 2nd and August 16th.

Have you ever been to the Palio?  Is it on your bucket list?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 7, 2014 by in Italy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , .
essentials everyday

a journey with essential oils

Sierra Estronad

An abandoned village brought to life.

Galleria Laura

thoughts, news and reviews of arts and culture

Sara Rosso's mobile photoblog

For more about me, visit www.SaraRosso.com

When I Have Time by Sara Rosso

Tech Tips, Biz Info and How-Tos to Bridge the Gap between Meek and Geek

Food Blogger on a Diet

I love food but I love my body, too. Here's to doing both.

Margie in Italy

Your Guide to Bella Italia

much more muchier

searching the world for adventures, food and muchness

VIGNETTE

CALIFORNIA LIVING

